A salute to Philippine fashion

The first Philippine Fashion Circle Awards 2022, A Salute to Philippine Fashion, was successfully held at the Grand Ballroom of Okada Manila on May 2. The star-studded fashion event, produced and presented by Virgie Monton and Richard Hiñola, in collaboration with Designer Circle Philippines, headed by Johnny Abad, paid tribute to departed Filipino fashion icons and the new prolific designers.   

Fashion icons, Ben Farrales, the Dean of Philippine Fashion, and Pitoy Moreno, Asia’s Fashion, led the posthumous honorees that included Aureo Alonzo, Danilo Franco, Cesar Gaupo, Eddie Baddeo, Ito Curata, Arielle Agasang, and Rocky Gathercole.    

Frederick Peralta was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Designers awarded were Renee Salud, Fanny Serrano, Michael Cinco, Albert Andra-da, Oscar Peralta, Francis Libiran, Edwin Uy, Dave Ocampo, Dong Omaga Diaz, Andrew Badiola, and Danny dela Cuesta, among others. 

Attendees at the first Philippine Fashion Circle Awards 2022 at the Grand Ballroom of Okada Manila

Rodin Gilbert Flores of Kagandahang Flores Beauty Camp was awarded Model Discoverer and Beauty Queen Maker for 2022.   

Beauty queens honorees were Miss International 1979 Melanie Marquez, Miss Universe 2015 Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach,  Miss World 1973 first runner up Evangeline Pascual, Noble Queen of the Universe 2020 Melanie Veneracion, Bb. Pilipinas Intercontinental 2019 Emma Mary Tiglao, Elite Mrs. Philippines International 2021 Ginevive Antigua Louw, Mrs. Tourism Ambassador International 2020 Myla Villagonzalo Tsutaichi, beauty queen and broadcaster Nina Taduran, and Mrs. Universe Philippines 2019 Gerone Olorocisimo.   

A fashion show for a cause was also held featuring the creations of Philippine Fashion Circle modeled by beauty queens that included Miss World Philippines 2021 Tracy Maureen Perez, Miss Eco International 2022 Kathleen Paton, Bb. Pilipinas Grand International 2021 Samantha Panlilio, Miss Earth 2017 Karen Ibasco, Mutya ng Pilipinas 1999 Ritchie Ocampo, Mrs. Pacific Continental 2022 Michelle Lucas, and Miss World 1973 first runner up Evangeline Pascual. 

• • •

Binibining Pilipinas 2022 Search kicks off   

The Binibining Pilipinas 2022 search kicked off with the announcement of the forty lovely official candidates. Returning beauties include last year’s first runner up Gabrielle Basiano, Karen Laurrie Mendoza, Graziella Lehman, Jashmin Dimaculangan, and Jane Darren Genobisa. 

The contestants of Binibining Pilipinas 2022

Miss Tourism International 2019 Cyrille Payumo, Miss Eco Teen International 2020 Roberta Angela Tamondong, former Pinoy Big Brother housemate Diana Mackey, and former Wowowin co-host Nicole ‘Hipon’ Budol are also on the list.   

The rest are Anna Valencia Lakrini, Anne De Mesa, Chelsea Fernandez, Christine Juliane Opiaza, Diana Pinto, Eiffel Rosalita, Elda Louise Aznar, Esel Mae Pabilaran, Ethel Abellanosa, Fatima Kate Bisan, Gracia Elizabeth Mendoza, Ina Patrcia Malaluan, Janine Navarro, Jasmine Omay, Jeriza Uy, Jessica Rose Mcewen, Joanna Day, Joanna Marie Rabe, Joanna Ricci Alajar, Krizzia Lynn Moreno, Leslie Avila, Maria Isabel David, Mariella Esguerra, Mary Justinne Punsalang, Natasha Ellema Jung, Nicole Borromeo, Nyca Mae Bernardo, Patricia Ann Tan, Patricia Go, Stacey Daniella Gabriel, and Yllana Marie Aduana.   

The winners will compete in Miss International, Miss Intercontinental, Miss Globe, and Miss Grand International pageants.